We're experts in saving lives.

Not every hospital can rise to the challenges of trauma treatment — but at HCA Virginia’s hospitals, we do. We're experts in saving lives. With our hospitals maintaining three of the 15 trauma centers in Virginia, our Level I (Chippenham Hospital), Level II (Henrico Doctors' Hospital) and Level III (Johnston-Willis Hospital) trauma centers are prepared and qualified to care for you.

HCA Virginia Trauma Centers, when minutes matter.

If you are critically ill or injured, our specially trained medical professionals with specialized equipment converge at your bedside as soon as you arrive in the ER. We deliver care immediately, with a rapid and systematic protocol that ensures you receive the critical attention you need as quickly as possible.

When life is at its worst, we’re at our best.

Our Level I – III Trauma Centers include:

  • A comprehensive team of trauma trained and board certified surgeons across varying specialties
  • Prompt assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care, and stabilization for critically injured patients
  • A helipad (CJW and HDH) for quick transport from an accident to the Trauma Center or to another medical center, if necessary
  • A comprehensive program to regularly review of our care standards based on national standards published by the American College of Surgeons and the American College of Emergency Physician
  • A program to evaluate quality and provide ongoing staff education program to ensure we continue to provide high quality care to the community
  • A community outreach program to help prevent injury for people in the Richmond area

We meet the standards.

In Virginia, the trauma center verification process is voluntary and intended to identify the various levels of capability available at participating hospitals. Trauma center standards are based upon the American College of Surgeons’ and the American College of Emergency Physicians’ national standards. There are three levels in the commonwealth:

  • Level I: Facilities that are capable of providing total care for every aspect of injury from prevention to rehabilitation
  • Level II: Facilities that are able to initiate definitive care for all injured patients
  • Level III: Facilities that have demonstrated an ability to provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, surgery, intensive care and stabilization of injured patients, and emergency operations.

State-recognized trauma centers.

Being state-recognized trauma centers means we voluntarily provide a higher level of care for the most critically injured patients. It also means our standards are reviewed and updated each year based on national standards published by the American College of Surgeons and the American College of Emergency Physicians.

We go above and beyond.

Our dedication to life during the critical “golden hour” of trauma, the first hour after trauma, can be seen by our ER and ICU capabilities. We go well above the minimum requirements for trauma centers, ensuring you receive the best possible care during your worst moments.

Learn more about our emergency and intensive care services.